Errant Sound has been dedicated to experimental work in sound related arts, including installation, performance, fieldwork, voice, radio and spatial practices. Through exhibitions, presentations, events, residencies and workshops, Errant Sound emphasizes an engagement with process and dialogue, encouraging a dynamic and diverse approach to the sound arts.

As a project space, it also intends to foster social and public activities, contributing to the creative scene in Berlin and its artistic communities. However, it defines itself as a sound art gallery – not a concert space.

Founded in 2010 by Brandon LaBelle as Errant Bodies, the project space is since 2013 managed and developed through a working group comprised of artists, researchers, curators, and writers focusing on sonic research and sound practices. Since 2016 it operates under the title Errant Sound and since 2017 the group is registered as an official association Errant Sound e.V. (Gemeinnütziger Verein, Board/Vorstand 2022: Georg Klein, Mario Asef, Janine Eisenächer, Laura Mello, Steffi Weismann). The working group develops initiatives and an experimental program of presentations, events, and exhibitions not only in their project space but also in public space and other locations.

Errant Sound has been located from 2010 til 2018 in Kollwitzstrasse (Prenzlauer Berg), and from 2019 til 2024 at Rungestrasse 20 (Berlin-Mitte).

Current members (May 2024) :

Mario Asef
Roberta Busechian
Andrei Cucu
Nico Daleman
Janine Eisenächer
Alessandra Eramo
Golo Föllmer
Georg Klein
Thom Kubli
Brandon LaBelle
Verena Lercher
Laura Mello
Oliver Möst
Jutta Ravenna
Kirsten Reese
Gerriet K. Sharma
Steffi Weismann
Georg Werner
Zorka Wollny
Jeremy Woodruff

Former members :

Alex Arteaga
Gilles Aubry
Serge Baghdassarians
Ylva Bentancor
Julia Cremers
Peter Cusack
Ernesto Estrella
Alexandre Fenerich
Berit Fischer
Daniela Fromberg
Hanna Hartman
Klaas Huebner
Jacob Kirkegaard
Ines Lechleitner
Stefan Roigk
Åsa Stjerna
Antje Vowinckel

In recent years Errant Sound was kindly supported by: